Muesli

Standard

I ate this a lot when I went on the foodnetwork cruise in October. I got back and read some recipes but couldn’t find anything that was the perfect recipe. Now I know why; anything you put in it seems to work. Since then, I’ve made it quite a few times. The uncooked oatmeal softens overnight and it’s ready in the morning.  It’s much quicker than cooking oatmeal in the morning and can be heated or eaten cold. I love the taste and it can’t be beat for speed and convenience. It makes me want to get out of bed in the morning!

Ingredients- for 2 servings

1 cup regular oats, unprepared (you can use quick cooking but I prefer regular)

1.5 cups almond, soy, rice or dairy milk (I use vanilla almond milk and like it a bit splashy)

3 tbsp dried cranberries, blueberries, or cherries

1/2 tsp (or so) each cinnamon and vanilla

dollop raw honey or maple syrup

1 large ripe banana, cut into slices

All ingredients are to taste. Stir all together into a large container and put in fridge.

In the morning, stir again, dish into a bowl and top with diced apples, walnuts, almonds, seeds, chia, clementines or whatever floats your boat. Right now I’m topping with apples, clementines and walnuts. Dive in!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

