Berry Clafoutis

Standard

It’s been a while since I posted anything on my blog. I don’t have the time to dedicate to daily posts right now, but I wanted to record some recipes here while they are still fresh in my mind.

Things are going along well, I’m working on my yoga teacher training and have been doing a bit of travel here and there. This week will be filled with visiting friends and family and Christmas and then we’re going to Toronto to meet up with Lisa and Mike for a few days. I’m looking forward to spending time with friends and family over the holidays.

I’ve been making this simple clafoutis quite a bit lately. I first tried clafoutis when my aunt Annette prepared it for me years ago. It’s classically prepared with cherries and that’s how she made it. I liked it but I forgot about it and never prepared it myself. Until now!

Mixed Berry Clafoutis

2 c frozen mixed berries

2 eggs

1 c white sugar

1 c heavy cream

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/3 c all-purpose flour

Directions:

Layer the berries in the bottom of a foil-lined square baking pan, 8×8. Take all remaining ingredients and either whisk by hand to combine or add all ingredients into a food processor, blender, or Vitamix and blend until incorporated (took 30-45 seconds in the Vita).  Pour mixture over the berries.  Bake at 350F for 45-60 minutes or until top is golden brown, puffy, and has a firm center that is fully set and that bounces back when lightly pressed.  Let the clafoutis cool slightly before dusting with powdered sugar(if desired).  Can be eaten warm or cooled, I store this in the fridge. This makes a small batch and doesn’t last long anywhere I’ve taken it. I didn’t include photos because I’ve been slack in taking them lately.

Instead, here’s the sunset over the backyard a few days ago

Leave a Reply

