Fleur De Sel Review

Standard

We made early reservations at a critically acclaimed restaurant. We had eaten here a few years ago and I wasn’t blown away but it was very good so I wanted to give it another try. In 2006 it was voted 8th best in Canada by Enroute magazine and they have some other awards displayed in their case outside, including one from Fodor’s.

http://www.fleurdesel.net/

It’s nicely decorated inside and very clean

I love eating early, it always seems the kitchen has extra time to make the food perfectly. I had high hopes for the meal and took my time making selections.

We enjoyed the service, our server was personable, relaxed and knowledgeable. We started with some cold tap water and a bottle of Napa Mumms. She brought some citrus for the water which is always appreciated.

The kitchen sent out a delicious amuse bouche, a beet on some bone marrow mayo, along with a few other small bites that we gobbled before I could snap them. We also enjoyed the breads.

We decided to share an app and I’m glad we did. Neither of us were very impressed with this dish although we both love beets. I didn’t enjoy the flavor of the soup and it needed more salt. There was no salt on the table and I hate sending food back to the kitchen unless it’s absolutely necessary. If chefs are going to pull the salt from the table they should ensure that every plate leaves perfectly salted. Also, at $16, this dish was overpriced- I expected more.

Tasting of Summer Beets
Yogurt and beet green soup, goat’s cheese ricotta,
roasted golden, red and candy cane beets   

For a main I ordered the sea trout- about half the skin hadn’t crisped up but I ate what I could. The fish was properly done and the garnish was good. Salt wasn’t an issue in this dish since the dashi broth was salty and delicious. This dish was a hit and I ate almost every morsel.

Sea Trout
Pan roasted Nova Scotian sea trout, new season potatoes,
organic baby bok choy, mizuna,
dashi and mussel broth 

Dessert was chocolate and olives. This was good but not mind blowing. I liked the plate flourishes better than the actual cake.

Chocolate & Olives
Olive oil chocolate cake,
citrus and olive oil ice cream,
black pepper and balsamic local strawberries,
black olive caramel    

Jeff wanted to try a blueberry tea with dessert, even though I make them at home often during the winter and he never drinks them here. I think that will change now that he’s tasted it

There was some bonus sweet treats at the end of the meal, I always enjoy that little surprise! This was chocolate shortbread, rhubarb jellies (OMG yum!) and homemade marshmallows.

Overall this was a great night and we enjoyed our meal. But at approx $200 for a meal for 2 I need to be blown away, and once again I wasn’t. The pricing is on the high side, especially for a restaurant 70 minutes out of town. It’s unlikely we will return to Fleur de Sel, when we return to Lunenburg we’ll go for casual dining and save the fine dining and give other restaurants a chance.

Leave a Reply

