Vibrant soup

Standard

Vibrant soup

Serves 4-6

2 tbsp olive oil

1 large onion, diced

2 garlic cloves minced

1 large sweet potato, peeled and diced

most of 1 baggie tender carrots – I saved a few for snacking (for me and the dogs)

1 litre or 4 cups veggie or chicken broth (I always go organic on this)

1 large roasted red pepper

salt and pepper to taste

(leftover roasted jalapeno crema- recipe below from Bobby Flay’s Mesa Cookbook)

Heat olive oil in heavy pot, sweat onions for 5 minutes, add garlic, stir 30 second. Add sweet potato, carrots, broth. Cook 35 minutes or until tender. Add s&p, roasted red pepper, blend using immersion blender, potato masher, food processor, etc. Spoon into bowls, top with crema.

Note- I roasted jalapenos yesterday for a recipe from the Mesa cookbook and I had a red pepper in the fridge so I roasted that at the same time to justify the oven time. This recipe doesn’t really need the red pepper roasted, you could just add a raw chopped one at the same time as the carrots and sweet potato. Since I had leftover jalapeno crema I topped the soup with it when serving. Warning- 2 jalapeno makes a spicy crema. I also used the crema as a quick guac mashed with some avocado for blue chips later. I originally made it to accompany red chile honey glazed salmon I made for lunch yesterday.

Bobby Flay’s Jalapeno Crema – makes about 1/2 cup

1/2 cup crema, creme fraiche, or sour cream (I used fat free sour cream and it was still great)

1 or 2 jalapeno chiles, roasted, peeled, seeded, and chopped

Combine in food processor. Season with salt and pepper. Can be made and refrigerated up to 1 day in advance.

Today’s kitchen soundtrack: Red Hot Chili Peppers and Ray LaMontagne. Why am I not a musician? Oh right, no talent. Good thing I married some.

One response »

Leave a Reply

